THEN WHAT?
Menu
HealthAustralia · 2020

Newmarch House: what happened after the outbreak

Nineteen residents died during a COVID-19 outbreak at Newmarch House in western Sydney in 2020. A coronial inquest later examined the response and care provided during the outbreak.

THE ORIGINAL STORY19 APRIL 2020
Josh Taylor
19 April 2020
Two residents die of Covid-19 at Newmarch House aged care home in western Sydney
Newmarch House building and entrance, photographed for this Guardian reportDan Himbrechts/AAP
Read the full report · 19 April 2020

The first deaths are reported.

That weekend, The Guardian reported two deaths at Newmarch House and positive tests among 26 residents and 13 staff. Its account also recorded Anglicare’s qualification that the coroner would establish the cause of death.

The early headline captured a growing outbreak, before its eventual toll and the later inquest findings were known. Nearly five years later, the findings would examine both infection prevention and the care residents received.

THEN WHAT?

The inquest findings arrived nearly five years later.

Editorial illustration of Newmarch House and a face mask

Published on 24 January 2025, the coronial findings examined infection prevention and residents’ care. They distinguish infections that might have been prevented from whether different care might have changed an individual outcome. They do not establish that every death could have been prevented.

Full findings · 24 January 2025

The story, in dates

Event dates
Scroll back through the story

The hearings ended. The findings were still to come.

The inquest heard evidence about the circumstances of the residents’ deaths. ABC’s account of the later findings says the three-week hearing stage concluded in 2022, with findings initially expected in early 2023.

That was the end of the hearings, rather than the coroner’s final conclusions. Those were published on 24 January 2025. ABC’s report describes the wait as an anxious one for the families.

ABC’s account of the hearings and wait for findings · 24 January 2025

A settlement, without an admission of liability

Alongside the inquest, relatives pursued a civil class action against Anglicare Sydney and Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District. Both defendants denied the allegations. A settlement was announced in November 2024, initially subject to court approval.

The court-approved notice of the proposed agreement specifies a $3.5 million total, including legal fees, expenses, any tax liability and statutory refunds. That is the proposed settlement pool, rather than $3.5 million available solely for families. The agreement was made without any admission of liability.

Settlement notice · paragraphs 2, 6 and 9 · Reporting on the November agreement and May hearing

Two questions about the care

The inquest examined the deaths of 19 residents. Its findings addressed two related questions: could different measures have prevented infections, and could different care have changed a resident’s eventual outcome?

Some findings say infection may have been prevented under another model of care. Others say additional treatment would not have materially changed the outcome. Those conclusions vary between residents; they do not amount to one answer for every death.

Read the full coronial findings · Read ABC’s account of the findings

What the report says went wrong

The coroner found that frontline managers lacked clear management structures and effective support from senior Anglicare executives. The findings also record occasions when residents’ medication, washing, nutrition or hydration needs were not met, or were met only after delays and repeated prompting.

The report places these lapses in the context of heavy demands on staff, shortages of experienced aged-care workers and the isolating effect of infection-control measures. Those circumstances matter alongside the findings about care.

Leadership findings · section 10.19 · Care findings · sections 15.5–15.6

An apology after the findings

ABC reported that Anglicare’s chief executive apologised to residents, families, loved ones and staff for the stress and loss of life during the outbreak. That response sits alongside the coroner’s findings; it does not resolve each question about an individual resident’s outcome.

Anglicare’s response in ABC’s report

The agreement goes before a judge

The settlement notice scheduled a hearing for 2 May 2025. In its 7 May report, The Weekly Source said Justice Peter Garling had heard from the parties about whether the agreement was fair, reasonable and in the group members’ interests. At that stage, the report anticipated final orders; it did not establish that families had been paid.

The scheduled hearing · paragraph 2 · The hearing reported · 7 May 2025

Approval is reported. Payments are a separate question.

In its full-year results announcement on 28 August 2025, Shine Justice, the parent company of the families’ lawyers, said settlement approval had been achieved in the Newmarch House class action.

That later statement moves the public account beyond the proposed agreement and approval hearing. It does not specify individual payouts, payment dates or confirm that every eligible family has received money. Those details remain unverified in this account.

Shine Justice’s approval statement · 28 August 2025, page 2

A protected identity

The published report records a court order protecting one resident and their relatives from identification. Their protected identities are not disclosed in the report. The wider findings about the outbreak and care are publicly available.

See section 3.11, footnote 1

Sources for this update

  1. 01Full coronial findings · NSW Coroners Court · 24 January 2025
  2. 02Reporting on the findings · ABC News · 24 January 2025
  3. 03Court-approved notice of proposed settlement · terms and no admission of liability
  4. 04Settlement approval hearing · The Weekly Source · 7 May 2025
  5. 05Shine Justice reports settlement approval · 28 August 2025 · page 2

Findings on record. Further developments to follow.

The coronial findings are public, and Shine Justice subsequently reported approval of the separate civil settlement. The findings do not establish that every death could have been prevented; the settlement is not an admission of liability. Individual payment amounts and dates remain unverified here. Further public, verified developments—including the financial outcome—will be added as they become available.

Still wondering about another story?

Tell us what you remember. We'll follow up...

Ask Then What? →
No exact headline needed.
Request a follow-up →
We’ll use your email only to handle this request and let you know if it’s published. No newsletter signup.Add a name to be credited publicly if your question becomes a story. Leave it blank for a “Requested update” stamp.Your email stays private. Requests are reviewed; publication is not guaranteed. We use your details only for this request, as explained in our privacy notice.
Next: your email. No newsletter signup.